Faculty Speaker Series

Faculty speaker events are divided into two categories: the Legal Theory Workshop Series and the Internal Speaker Series. The Legal Theory Workshop Series brings distinguished faculty from law schools throughout the United States and abroad. The Internal Speaker Series features our own faculty members who present works in progress and benefit from attendee feedback.

Location

All talks are held in the Faculty Conference Room, located on the fourth floor of the Law Library, and begin at 12:30 p.m. (As classes begin at 2:00 p.m., all talks will conclude at 1:50 p.m.)

Lunch is served at noon. 

For More Information & RSVP

All University of Miami faculty are invited to attend. All others should contact Detra Davis Fleming at 305-284-3088 or ddavis@law.miami.edu to RSVP and to obtain a copy of the presentation paper prior to the lecture date. 

Due to limited student seating, students must also contact Detra Davis Fleming to RSVP.

Spring 2017 Schedule

January 2017

Monday, January 30, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Muneer Ahmad (Yale)    Teach-In on the Executive Order "Muslim Ban"

February 2017

Monday, February 6, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Noah Messing (Yale)    "Legal Writing, Civil Procedure, and Persuasion: Rethinking First Principles in the First Semester"
Tuesday, February 7, 2017    Miami-FIU Exchange: Hannibal Travis    "Counter-IP Conspiracies: Patent Alienability and the Sherman Antitrust Act"
Thursday, February 9, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: W. Michael Reisman (Yale)    "Legal Decisions and Their Implementation in International Law"
Monday, February 13, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Eric Talley (Columbia)    TBA
Friday, February 17, 2017    Miami-FIU Exchange: Jose Gabilando    TBA

March 2017

Monday, March 6, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Alexandre Kedar (Haifa)
Thursday, March 9, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: David Luban (Georgetown)
Monday, March 20, 2017    Internal Speaker: Michael Froomkin
Tuesday, March 28, 2017    CERT Talk with Lili Levi: Star Athletica
Wednesday, March 29, 2017    Internal Speaker: Teresa Verges

April 2017

Monday, April 3, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Anthony Jack (Harvard)    TBA
Wednesday, April 5, 2017    Internal Speaker: Alejandro Portes    "Miami: The Last Twenty-Five Years"
Friday, April 7, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Kevin Stack (Vanderbilt)    TBA
Monday, April 10, 2017    CERT Talk with Caroline Corbin: Trinity Lutheran v. Pauley    TBA
Monday, April 17, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Martha Jones (Michigan Law)  "Birthright Citizens: A History of Race and Rights in Antebellum America"
Friday, April 21, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Mehrsa Baradaran (UGA)    TBA
Monday, April 24, 2017    Legal Theory Workshop: Reid Weisbord (Rutgers)    TBA

 See Fall 2016 Schedule (Past)

September 2016

Friday, September 2
Legal Theory Workshop: Seth Davis (UC Irving)
Title: Minor Courts, Major Questions

Friday, September 9
Legal Theory Workshop: Andrew Ferguson (UDC)    
Title: The "Smart" Fourth Amendment

Wednesday, September 14
Cert Talk: Sergio Campos    
Title: Microsoft v. Baker

Friday, September 16
Legal Theory Workshop: Steve Dean (Brooklyn)    
Title: Demolition Blues: Text, Intent and Taxation in the United States, the United Kingdom and France

Monday, September 19
Legal Theory Workshop: Andrew Levin (Columbia)    
Title: Identification and Management of Vicarious Trauma

Friday, September 23
Legal Theory Workshop: David Skeel (Penn)    
Title: The Empty Idea of "Equality of Creditors"

Wednesday, September 28, 2016    
Internal Speaker: Patrick Gudridge    
Title: Dissent Within Orthodoxy

Friday, September 30
Legal Theory Workshop: Alicia Plerhoples (Georgetown)    
Title: Nonprofit Displacement and the Pursuit of Charity Through Public Benefit Corporations

October 2016

Wednesday, October 19
Internal Speaker Series: Marnie Mahoney    
Title: Why Don't WE Leave? Confrontation, Confusion, and the Failure of Legal Scholars to Move On from a "Syndrome" Framework for Domestic Violence

November 2016

Wednesday, November 9    
Cert Talk: Rebecca Sharpless    
Title: Jennings v. Rodriguez

Thursday, November 10
Cert Talk: Donald Jones    
Title: Pena-Rodriguez v. Colorado

For Information and RSVP

All University of Miami faculty are invited to attend. All others should contact Detra Davis Fleming at 305-284-3088 or ddavis@law.miami.edu to RSVP and to obtain a copy of the presentation paper prior to the lecture date. Due to limited student seating, students must also contact Detra Davis Fleming to RSVP.