Miami Law Class Action & Complex Litigation Forum

On December 8, 2017 the University of Miami School of Law is proud to host the 2nd Annual Miami Law Class Action & Complex Litigation Forum.

    Register Today    


  Become a Sponsor  

The Forum will bring together leading judges, MDL panelists, practitioners, and scholars from around the country to discuss current cutting edge issues and topics associated with multi-district class actions and complex litigation.

Join the conversation on social media! #ClassActionForum

Panel Topics

Adam Moskowitz

Discussion of a Hypothetical Class Action
Case/Fred Friendly Seminars Model

Moderator: Adam Moskowitz
Partner, Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton

The Honorable Eduardo C. Robreno
United States District Court, Eatern District of Pennsylvania

The Honorable Katherine H. Vratil
United States District Court, District of Kansas

Mr. Frank G. Burt, Carlton Fields Jorden Burt, P.A.
Mr. Andrew S. Friedman, Bonnet Fairbourn Friedman & Balint, P.C.
Mr. Bruce E. Gerstein, Garwin Gerstein & Fisher LLP

Peter Prieto

Class Action: A Judge's Perspective

Moderator: Peter Prieto
Partner, Podhurst Orseck PA

The Honorable Beth F. Bloom
United States District Court, Southern District of South Florida

The Honorable Claire C. Cecchi 
United States District Court, District of New Jersey

The Honorable Darrin P. Gayles 
United States District Court, Southern District of South Florida

David A. Coulson, Greenberg Traurig
Robert C. Gilbert, Kopelwitz Ostrow

Lance Harke

Resolution of Class Action Cases

Moderator: Lance Harke
Founding Partner, Harke Clasby & Bushman

The Honorable Cynthia M. Rufe 
United States District Court, Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Steven F. Benz, Kellogg Hansen Todd Figel & Frederick
Tucker Ronzetti, Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton
Lawrence D. Silverman, Akerman
Teresa C. Toriseva, Toriseva Law

Harley Tropin

Hot Topics in Class Action and Mass Torts

Moderator: Harley Tropin
President, Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton

The Honorable Eldon Fallon
United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana

The Honorable David Proctor
United States District Court, Northern District of Alabama

Hilarie F. Bass, Greenberg Traurig
Sarah Clabsy Engel, Harke Clasby & Bushman
David W. Ichel, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Senior Lecturing Fellow, Duke Law

Brian T. Fitzpatrick, Professor of Law, Vanderbilt Law School

Alumni Center ExteriorDate: Friday, December 8, 2017
Time: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm (Reception immediately following the Forum)

University of Miami Newman Alumni Center
6200 San Amaro Drive
Coral Gables, FL 33146

Registration Fee: $495
Special Young Alumni Rate: $395 (for Miami Law graduates 2007-2017)


CLE & Certification

CLE: 8.5 general FL CLE credits pending approval by The Florida Bar
Certification Credits: 8.5 Civil trial certification credits pending approval by The Florida Bar

Registration Fee

Registration Fee: $495
Special Young Alumni Rate: $395 (for Miami Law graduates 2007-2017)



The official forum hotel is the Biltmore Hotel, which offers constituents of the university discounted rates on a first come, first serve basis. When booking the Biltmore Hotel, please use promotional code: UNIMIA.

You can also click here for other hotel options in the area.

For Information

For inquiries contact

Thank you To Our Sponsors

Become a sponsor

KTT POdhurst  HB